A wanderer story

Hello, everyone. Today, I’ll be sharing my wanderer story with you. My hope is that you will take away something of value from this presentation of my experiences.

My upbringing occurred in the Upper Midwest, a land characterized by four true seasons. Across my whole life, I have intuitively felt great beauty and peace in the cold months of winter. These days, though the lens of the Law of One, I think of barren, snowy winter landscapes as our wonderful planet deep in meditation clearing distraction and refining character, just as we might in the quiet silence of our own personal meditation practices.

I was raised Christian in a flavor of evangelical Lutheranism. Christian spiritual matters played a prominent part of my upbringing. I studied the Bible, memorizing many passages as tasked. Sacred songs elevated my soul, which I discovered while singing in church and choir. Yet, these actions were more motivated by grades and parents than a conscious spiritual seeking. I knew I enjoyed these subjects, but true seeking of divine knowledge must come from free pursuit, and I wasn’t ready for such honest study. I was, however, a voracious reader, and many books I found most enjoyable had elements of the fantastic, supernatural, and/or spiritual.

High school was a challenging time. Though I put on a strong face, deep down, I felt terribly depressed, particularly from the conduct of “friends.” Following high school, I went to my state’s flagship university. At this point, my eyes were opened to the issues from my upbringing. Though I had been given a solid spiritual foundation, that university made me realize that many important ideas and concepts were either ignored or dismissed during my early years. This realization induced a significant “system shock,” and the result was a choice to essentially place all spiritual matters in storage for quite a few years.